REFLECTIVE ESSAY

Learning to Love 

Throughout my experiences in high school, it never occurred to me how limited my knowledge was on writing. I enjoyed writing poetry to the point where it has become my passion but one thing I always hated writing were essays. To me, there were too much restrictions and poetry always seemed more open and deep. Essays were just facts restated into sentences and paragraphs. Writing essays became more of a need than a want and I ended up doing it just for the sake of passing it in class. These were even moments where I knew my work was not in its best quality but I passed it anyway because I just wanted to be done. College life so far requires a lot of writing, just not the ones I was used to or particularly enjoyed. However, after experiencing ENGLCOM class, I developed an interest in writing essays not because it was required but because it was sort of enjoyable. ENGLCOM has taught me that any form of writing can be fun if you like what you’re writing about. 

Throughout my ENGLCOM experience, I learned to enjoy writing essays. My perspective on them changed after I was given the opportunity to choose my own topic. That got me excited and I could not wait to start on my essay. At that time I still was not so developed on writing essays, so of course, my output was not as great as I wanted it to be. I learned to accept criticism and use that to my advantage. I continued to strive to make the best essays as I possibly could. I experienced some sleepless nights but not because I did my work last minute, but because I had too many ideas that were going through my head I had difficulty organizing them and choosing which ideas to use. After experiencing all those ENGLCOM classes and lectures, I can say that my essay writing skills have improved. Not yet enough to master it but enough to want to write more. I look back at the time when I did not enjoy essays and now I know it was probably because I did not get the knowledge and the experiences I have now. I was not able to exercise the skill and at that time, I did not have the patience to write something so long especially when I was given a topic I did not want to write about. Today, I feel more confident with my essays and I learned to make do of what resources I have to form it and shape it to an essay that fits not only my interest but the interest of others as well.

ENGLCOM has taught me that any form of writing can be fun if you like what you’re writing about. It has given me new experiences I will carry with me forever. It has given me a new passion for writing not only poetry, but essays as well. I know that these skills will help me grow and develop in college especially during writing classes and projects. This experience has enhanced my love for writing even more and I know that love will only grow over time. I am glad that I was able to experience the world of ENGLCOM and I look forward to more experiences and adventures with the English classes I have in store for me in the future.

 

Leave a comment